There is a brilliant poem by Rainer Maria Rilke, Moving Ahead.

It seems appropriate for students in Portfolio One, indeed for students of life, as it alludes to emerging consciousness and awareness of self.

Seemingly optimistic in tone, there is also a window of the unknown, as if things are growing but the journey is not yet complete.

There still is work to be done.

So read this piece and reflecting on what affects you, go out and make an image expressing the feelings generated.

Moving Ahead

Rainer Maria Rilke

translated by Robert Bly

 

Once more my deeper life goes on with more strength,

as if the banks through which it moves had widened out.

Trees and stones seem more like me each day,

and the paintings I see seem more seen into:

with my senses, as with the birds, I climb

into the windy heaven out of the oak,

and in the ponds broken off from the blue sky

my feeling sinks, as if standing on fishes.

